less than 1 minute read

Criminal Courts

Structure Of Federal Courts

Ninety-six federal district courts exist throughout the United States. Twenty-six states have one district court, twelve states have two, nine states have three, and three states have four.

For the federal courts of appeal, the First Circuit Court of Appeals includes Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Puerto Rico; the Second Circuit Court includes Connecticut, New York, and Vermont; the Third Circuit Court covers Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and the Virgin Islands; the Fourth Circuit Court covers Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia; the Fifth Circuit Court covers Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas; the Sixth Circuit Court covers Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee; the Seventh Circuit Court covers Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin; the Eighth Circuit Court covers Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota; the Ninth Circuit Court covers Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Guam, and the Northern Marianas; the Tenth Circuit Court covers Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming; and the Eleventh Circuit Court covers Alabama, Florida, and Georgia.

Additional topics

Law Library - American Law and Legal InformationCrime and Criminal LawCriminal Courts - Early American Courts, The Constitution And The Courts, Creating A National Court System, Federal Courts - Special state courts