less than 1 minute read

Treasury Department

Secretary Of The Treasury, Bureau Of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms And Explosives, Office Of The Comptroller Of The Currency

The U.S. Department of the Treasury performs four basic functions: formulating and recommending economic, financial, tax, and fiscal policies; serving as financial agent for the U.S. government; enforcing the law; and manufacturing coins and currency. The Treasury Department was created by an act of September 2, 1789 (31 U.S.C.A. § 301). Many subsequent acts have affected the development of the department and created its numerous bureaus and divisions. On March 1, 2003, the newly-created HOMELAND SECURITY DEPARTMENT took control of several treasury divisions: the U.S. Customs Service, the SECRET SERVICE, and the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center.

Additional topics

Law Library - American Law and Legal InformationFree Legal Encyclopedia: Tonnage tax to Umpire