Other Free Encyclopedias » Law Library - American Law and Legal Information » State Laws and Statutes

Criminal Statutes of Limitation laws - Information on the law about Criminal Statutes of Limitation

yrs sexual none murder

A statute of limitation is a law which forbids prosecutors from charging someone with a crime that was committed more than a specified number of years ago. The general purpose of statutes of limitation is to make sure convictions occur only upon evidence (physical or eyewitness) that has not deteriorated with time. After the period of the statute has run, the criminal is essentially free.

Statutes of limitation generally require the criminal to remain in the state, gainfully employed and visible, seeming to necessitate that the criminal remain "catchable." If the authorities fail to discover a criminal living in the open within a specified amount of time, society has determined that at that point the criminal should be able to live free from the possibility of prosecution. It appears that this notion is born out of a sense of mercy more than pragmatics: if the criminal is a fugitive, out of the state in which the crime was committed or otherwise living in hiding, this tolls, or suspends, the statute. (Once the criminal reenters the state the statute resumes running.) However, if the criminal were living an open, public, so-called "reformed" life, after a reasonable period of time he is allowed to be free from capture.

Not all crimes are governed by statutes of limitation. Murder, for example, has none. Sex offenses with minors, crimes of violence, kidnapping, arson, and forgery have no statutes of limitation in a number of states. In Arizona and California crimes involving public money or public records have no statutes of limitation. While in Colorado, treason has none.

Many states have adopted systems that classify felonies by category. Therefore, in order to effectively compare statutes of limitation provisions, it is necessary to determine which crimes in that state fit into particular classes. For example, Missouri lists murder or Class A felonies as crimes with no statutes of limitation. Each crime must then be looked up in that state's statutes to determine its classification.

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
ALABAMA 15-3-1 et seq. Arson, forgery, any capital offense, counterfeiting, use, attempted use, or threat of violence, felony with serious physical injury/death, any sex offense with one under 16, drug trafficking: none; other felonies: 3 yrs.; conversion of state or county revenue: 6 yrs.; unlawfully taking or using temporarily the property of another: 30 days 12 mos. Prosecution commences upon indictment, issuing warrant or binding over of defendant
ALASKA 12.10.010 et seq. Murder: none; 10 yrs. for certain violent felonies; felony sexual abuse of a minor: none; other felonies: 5 yrs., any offense that includes fraud or breach of fiduciary obligation, official misconduct in public office: extension 1 year after discovery offense, with a maximum extension of 3 years. 5 yrs. If outside the state hiding, maximum extension 3 yrs when a prosecution against the accused for the same conduct is pending in this state.
ARIZONA 13-107 Homicide, violent sexual assault, misuse of public money, falsifying public records: none; other felonies: 7 yrs. 1 yr.; petty offenses: 6 mos. Absent from state or no reasonably ascertainable residence in state; identity not known
ARKANSAS 5-1-109 Murder: none; rape: 15 yrs.; Class Y and A felonies: 6 yrs.; Class B, C, D, or unclassified felonies: 3 yrs.; if offense involves fraud or breach of fiduciary duty: 1 yr.; felonious conduct in public office: 5 yrs. with max. extension to 10 yrs.; if offense is against minor and limitation period has not expired since victim turned 18, statutory period for offense starts at age of majority. 1 yr. Continually absent from state or has no reasonably ascertainable home or work within the state, max. extension 3 yrs. when a prosecution against the accused for the same conduct is pending in this state.
CALIFORNIA Pen. §§799 et seq. Murder, other offenses punishable by death or life imprisonment, embezzlement of public funds: none; offenses punishable by 8 or more years in prison: 6 yrs.; offenses punishable by imprisonment: 3 yrs. 1 yr.; misdemeanor violation committed on a minor under 14: 3 yrs.; sexual exploitation by physician or therapist: 2 yrs. Not in state, max. extension 3 yrs.; statutory periods do not begin until offense is or should have been discovered

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
COLORADO 16-5-401 Murder, attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit murder, kidnapping, attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit kidnapping, treason, attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit treason, any forgery regardless of penalty provided, attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any forgery regardless of penalty provided: none; sexual assault, aggravated incest, trafficking in or sexual exploitation of children, soliciting for child prostitution, pandering or procurement of a child: 10 yrs.; other felonies: 3 yrs. (bribery and abuse of public office: 3 yr. extension; sexual offenses on children under 15 yrs. of age: 7 yr. extension) 18 mos.; Class I and II and traffic offenses: 1 yr.; petty offenses: 6 mos.; 3rd degree sexual assault: 5 yrs. Absent from state: 5 yrs. maximum extension
CONNECTICUT 54-193 et seq. Murder or capital, Class A felony: none; if imprisonment is more than 1 yr.: 5 yrs.; any other: 1 yr.; sexual abuse, exploitation, or assault: 30 yrs. after victim reaches majority or 5 yrs. from date of notification by victim, whichever is earlier (5 yrs. max.); when DNA available for sexual assault offenses: 20 yrs. if DNA evidence establishes the identity of the person who committed the offense and the victim notified police within 5 yrs. of offense 1 yr. Fleeing or residing outside state
DELAWARE Tit. 11 §205(a), (b), (h), (c), (e), (i) Murder, attempt to commit murder, Class A felony, attempt to commit Class A felony: none; others: 5 yrs. unless forensic DNA evidence, then 10 yrs.; any offense which includes forgery, fraud, breach of fiduciary duty, theft or misapplication of property, misconduct in public office: additional 3 yrs.; any sexual offense where victim was under 18 yrs. of age Class A: 3 yrs.; others: 2 yrs. Fleeing or hiding from justice action commenced
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 23-113 1st or 2nd degree murder: none; other felonies in 1st and 2nd degree: 6 yrs.; all other crimes: 3 yrs.; except if offense included official misconduct, fraud or breach of fiduciary trust: max. 9 yrs. felony, 6 yrs. misdemeanor 3 yrs. Fleeing or action commenced

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
FLORIDA 775.15 Felony that resulted in death: none; perjury in official proceeding that relates to prosecution of a capitol felony: none; Capital or life felony: none; 1st degree felony and 2nd degree felony for abuse or neglect of aged or disabled adult: 5 yrs.; others: 3 yrs.; other felony, violation of securities transaction: 5 yrs.; violation of environmental control: 5 yrs. of date of discovery; any offense which fraud or breach of fiduciary obligation is a material element: 3 yrs.; misconduct in public office: within 2 yrs. of leaving office or any above limit, whichever is greater; sexual offenses (battery, assault, intercourse under age 18): begins running at age 16 or when violation is reported, whichever is earlier. Other 1st degree misdemeanors: 2 yrs.; 2nd degree and noncriminal violations: 1 yr. Continually absent from state, no reasonably ascertainable work or abode in state: maximum extension 3 yrs.
GEORGIA 17-3-1, 2, 2.1 Forcible rape: 15 yrs.; Murder: none; crimes punishable by death or life imprisonment: 7 yrs.; others: 4 yrs.; crimes against victims under 14: 18 yrs.; for victims under 16 yrs. of age of offenses such as rape, sodomy, incest, and child molestation (occurring after 7/1/92), the statute will run upon the victim turning 16 or when the violation is reported, whichever occurs earlier. If DNA evidence establishes identity of accused in armed robbery, kidnapping, rape, aggravated child molestation, aggravated sodomy, aggravated sexual battery: none 2 yrs. Nonresident; when person or crime is unknown
HAWAII 701-108 1st or 2nd degree murder or 1st, 2nd degree attempted murder or criminal solicitation to commit murder: none; manslaughter where death was not caused by operating a motor vehicle: 10 yrs.; Class A felony: 6 yrs.; others: 3 yrs.; if fraud or breach of fiduciary obligation is element: 2-6 yrs. extension after discovery; if based on misconduct in public office: 2-3 yrs. extension upon discovery Misdemeanor or parking violation: 2 yrs.; petty misdemeanors: 1 yr. Continuously absent from state or no reasonably ascertainable residence or work within the state, while prosecution is pending: maximum extension 4 yrs.; prosecution pending

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
IDAHO 19-401, et seq. Murder, voluntary manslaughter, rape: none; other felonies and felonies committed upon or against a minor child: 5 yrs.; sexual abuse of or lewd conduct with a child under 16 yrs. of age: 5 yrs. after the child reaches the age of 18; ritualized abuse of child: 3 yrs. after initial disclosure by victim 1 yr. Absent from state
ILLINOIS 720 ILCS 5/3-5; 5/3-7 1st or 2nd degree murder, attempt to commit first degree murder, criminal solicitation to commit murder, involuntary manslaughter, reckless homicide, treason, arson, forgery: none; others: 3 yrs. Extended limitations when: victim of theft a minor or under legal disability, then during minority or legal disability or within 1 yr. of termination; misconduct in public office: within 1 yr. of discovery, max 3 yr. extension; incestual sexual conduct or penetration of a minor: 1 yr. after victim turns 18; child pornography, indecent solicitation or juvenile pimping of a child, sexual abuse of a minor: within 1 yr. of victim turning 18, 3 yr. minimum; sexual conduct or penetration in professional of fiduciary relationship: 1 yr. after discovery by victim; hazardous waste violations: 5 yrs. after discovery; criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual abuse: 10 yrs, or 2 yrs. if reported; criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, or failure to report those offenses under Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act: 20 yrs. after victim turns 18; any offense involving sexual conduct or penetration of a minor where DNA profile of offender entered in database within 10 yrs., victim reported within 2 yrs. (unless given longer under statute), and offender's identity unknown: none 18 mos. Nonresident prosecution pending

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
INDIANA 35-41-4-2 Murder, Class A felony: none; others, Class B, C, D felony, forgery of an instrument for payment: 5 yrs.; child molesting (if person is at least 16 and victim is not more than 2 yrs. younger: 5 yrs.), vicarious sexual gratification, child solicitation or seduction, incest: when alleged victim turns 31 yrs. of age; Class B and C felony extended 1 yr. after DNA evidence revealing identity of offender discovered or should have been discovered 2 yrs. Nonresident, absent state, conceals self or evidence of crime; prosecution is considered timely if defendant pleads guilty at any time
IOWA 802.1, et seq. 1st and 2nd degree murder: none; others: 3 yrs.; 1st, 2nd, 3rd degree sex abuse committed on or with a person under 18: within 10 yrs. after victim turns 18; other 1st, 2nd, 3rd degree sex abuse: 10 yrs; incest with person under 18: within 10 yrs. after victim turns 18; sexual exploitation by counselor or therapist: 10 yrs., unless victim under 18 yrs., then 10 yrs. after victim turns 18; fraud or breach of fiduciary duty: extension up to 3 yrs. Serious misdemeanor: 3 yrs.; simple misdemeanor or violation of ordinances: 1 yr. Outside state or nonresident
KANSAS 21-3106 Murder: none; if victim is the Kansas public employees retirement system: 10 yrs.; victim under 16, indecent liberties with child, solicitation of child, incest or sexual exploitation of child and all rape and aggravated criminal sodomy: 5 yrs. or within 1 yr of DNA evidence establishing offender's identity, whichever is later; others: 2 yrs; arson: 5 yrs 2 yrs. Absent state or concealed within state; concealed crime
KENTUCKY 500.050 Felony: none 1 yr.  
LOUISIANA Crim. Proc. Art. 571 et seq., 572, 575 Crimes with punishment of death or life imprisonment: none; felony punishable by hard labor: 6 yrs.; felony not necessarily punishable by hard labor: 4 yrs.; forcible rape, none; forcible rape, sexual battery (aggravated), carnal knowledge, indecent behavior or molestation of juvenile, crime against nature involving victim under 17 yrs. of age: 10 yrs. beginning when victim turns 18 yrs. old Punishment of fine or forfeiture: 6 mos.; fine and/or prison: 2 yrs. Avoiding detection, fleeing, outside state, absent residence in state; lacks mental capacity to proceed at trial

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
MAINE Tit. 17-A §8 Murder, 1st or 2nd degree criminal homicide, incest, rape, or gross sexual assault if victim is under 16 yrs. of age: none; Class A, B, C crime: 6 yrs.; Class D, E crime: 3 yrs.; if breach of fiduciary obligation: 1 yr., max. extension: 5 yrs.; official misconduct: 2 yrs., max. extension: 5 yrs.   Absent state or prosecution pending in state: maximum 5 yrs. extension
MARYLAND Cts. & Jud. Proc. §§5-106, 107 Murder: none; manslaughter or homicide by vehicle, welfare or Medicare fraud, tax-related offense, sex discrimination in paying wages, compensation in connection with adoption, unauthorized practice of medicine: 3 yrs.; criminal offense under state election laws, conflict of interest laws, or criminal misfeasance by officer of the state (or conspiracy thereof): 2 yrs.; assault, libel, or slander: 1 yr. Misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment: none; other misdemeanors: 1 yr.; vehicle violations of unlawfully using a driver's license or fraudulently using false name when applying for driver's license: 2 yrs.; Sabbath breaking, drunkenness, or selling alcoholic beverages after hours or to a minor in Allegany County: 30 days  
MASSACHUSETTS Ch. 277§63 Murder: none; robbery, intent to rob or murder with dangerous weapon: 10 yrs; rape, assault with intent to rape, rape/abuse/assault of child: 15 yrs.; others: 6 yrs.; indecent assault on child, on mentally retarded person, rape/abuse/assault of child, kidnapping of minor, sexual offenses such as drugging for sex, enticing for marriage, inducing minor into prostitution, lewd and lascivious behavior or acts, dissemination of harmful matter to minors, exhibiting nudity, or crime against nature: when victim reaches 16 yrs. old or violation is reported, whichever is earlier 6 yrs. Tolled when defendant is not usually and publicly resident

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
MICHIGAN 767.24 Murder: none; kidnapping, extortion, assault with intent or conspiracy to murder: 10 yrs.; others: 6 yrs.; if victim was under age 18 for any degree of sexual conduct or assault with intent to commit sexual conduct or any sexually abusive activity or material to minor: 10 yrs. or when the victim turns 21 yrs. old, whichever is later; if DNA evidence obtained: none until offender identified, then 10 yrs. after identification or when victim turns 21, whichever is later. 6 yrs. Not resident, did not usually and publicly reside
MINNESOTA 628.26 Murder: none; bribery, medical assistance fraud, theft: 6 yrs. (if value of property/services in theft is over $35,000: 5 yrs.); familial sexual abuse, criminal sexual conduct: 9 yrs. or if victim under 18 yrs. of age, within 3 yrs. after; if DNA evidence collected and capable of testing: any time after offense is reported; arson, environmental offenses: 5 yrs.; all others: 3 yrs. 3 yrs. Not inhabitant of or usually resident within state
MISSISSIPPI 99-1-5 Murder, manslaughter, arson, burglary, forgery, counterfeiting, robbery, larceny, rape, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses of property: none; felonious abuse or battery of child, sexual battery of a child, exploitation of children, touching child for lustful purposes: on or before child's 21st birthday; all others: 2 yrs. 2 yrs. Absent state, fleeing, hiding
MISSOURI 556.036 Murder or Class A felony: none; others: 3 yrs.; unlawful sexual offenses involving person under 17 yrs. old: 10 yrs.; if fraud or breach of fiduciary duty is material element of offense: 1-3 yrs. after discovery; official misconduct: 2-3 yrs. after offense or public employment 1 yr.; infractions: 6 mos. Absent state, hiding: maximum 3 yr. extension; prosecution pending for same conduct, lacks mental fitness: maximum 3 yr. extension

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
MONTANA 45-1-205; 45-1-206 Deliberate, mitigated, or negligent homicide: none; others: 5 yrs.; sexual assault, sexual intercourse without consent, indecent exposure, deviate sexual conduct, incest, sexual or ritual abuse of child if victim is under 18 yrs. old at time of offense: within 5 yrs. of victim turning 18 yrs. old; theft involving breach of fiduciary obligation: within 1 yr. of discovery or if involving a minor, within 1 yr. of termination of minority; unlawful use of computer: within 1 yr. of discovery of offense 1 yr.; misdemeanor of fish, wildlife, or outfitter activity laws: within 3 yrs. after offense committed When offender is not usually and publicly resident of state, or beyond jurisdiction of state; prosecution pending for same conduct
NEBRASKA 29-110 Murder, treason, arson, forgery: none; others: 3 yrs.; if victim is less than 16 yrs. old at time of offense, sexual assault (1, 2, or 3 degree), kidnapping, false imprisonment, child abuse, pandering, debauching a minor: 7 yrs. from offense or victim's 16th birthday, whichever is later 18 mos.; if fine less than $100 or jail time less than 3 mos.: 1 yr. Fleeing justice
NEVADA 171.080 et seq. Murder: none; theft, robbery, arson, burglary, forgery, sexual assault: 4 yrs.; others: 3 yrs.; sexual abuse of a child: by time victim reaches 21 yrs. old or 28 yrs. old if "does not discover or reasonably should not have discovered" he was a victim Gross misdemeanor: 2 yrs.; others: 1 yr. Prosecution commences when indictment is presented
NEW HAMPSHIRE 625:8 Murder: none; Class A or B felony or unemployment compensation offense: 6 yrs.; offense of hunting game or fur-bearing animals or violation of off highway recreational vehicles: 3 yrs.; breach of fiduciary duty: within 1 yr. of offense; official misconduct: within 2 yrs. of offense; sexual assault and related offenses when victim is under 18 yrs. old: within 22 yrs. of victim's 18th birthday 1 yr.; violations: 3 mos. Absent state, no residence or work in state; prosecution pending for same conduct
NEW JERSEY 2C:1-6; Murder, manslaughter: none; official misconduct, bribery and related offenses: 7 yrs.; others: 5 yrs.; if victim under 18, prosecution must begin within 5 yrs. after victim attains 18 for sexual assault, criminal sexual contact and endangering welfare of children Petty offense or disorderly persons offense: 1 yr. Fleeing justice; prosecution pending for same conduct

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
NEW MEXICO 30-1-8 et seq. Capital or 1st degree felony: none; 2nd degree: 6 yrs.; 3rd and 4th degree: 5 yrs.; others: 3 yrs.; child abuse, criminal sexual penetration, or criminal sexual contact of minor: until victim turns 18 yrs. old or the offense is reported, whichever occurs first 2 yrs.; petty: 1 yr. Fleeing justice or not usually or publicly resident of state; enumerated procedural defects; when DNA evidence is available and suspect has not been identified for criminal sexual penetration, time period won't run until a DNA profile is matched with a suspect
NEW YORK Crim. Proc. §30.10 Murder, Class A felony: none; others: 5 yrs.; violation of collection, treatment, disposal of refuse and solid waste: 4 yrs.; breach of fiduciary duty: within 1 yr. of discovery of offense; official misconduct: 5 yrs. of offense 2 yrs.; petty offenses: 1 yr.; tax law misdemeanor: 3 yrs. (NY City adm. code) Absent state or whereabouts unknown: up to 5 yrs.
NORTH CAROLINA 15-1 None Malicious misdemeanor: none; others: 2 yrs.  
NORTH DAKOTA 29-04-01 to 04 Murder: none; sexual abuse of children: 7 yrs. or within 3 yrs. of reporting of offense; others: 3 yrs.; if victim is under 15 yrs. old, period of limitation begins when he turns 15 yrs. old 2 yrs. Absent state
OHIO 2901.13 Murder or aggravated murder: none; others: 6 yrs.; fraud or breach of fiduciary duty: within 1 yr. of discovery of offense; official misconduct: within 2 yrs.; manslaughter, kidnapping rape, sexual battery, unlawful sexual conduct with a minor, compelling prostitution, arson, robbery, burglary, aggravated riot, felonious or aggravated assault of a peace officer, felonious assault, or conspiracy or attempt to commit any of the above: 20 yrs. 2 yrs.; minor misdemeanor: 6 mos. Absent state or conceals identity or whereabouts or undiscovered corpus delicti; prosecution pending for same conduct

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
OKLAHOMA Tit. 22 §151-153 Murder: none; bribery, embezzlement or misappropriation of public money or other assets, falsification of public records, conspiracy to defraud state or other subdivision, rape or forcible sodomy; lewd or indecent proposals or acts against children crimes involving minors in pornography, sodomy: 7 yrs.; (extended if DNA evidence collected and preserved: within 3 yrs. of identity establishment of offender through DNA testing); criminal conspiracy, embezzlement, criminal state income tax violations: 5 yrs.; all others: 3 yrs. 3 yrs. Absent state or not a resident of the state
OREGON 131.125, 145, 155 Murder, manslaughter: none; sexual felonies including criminal mistreatment sexual abuse in 1st and 2nd degree, rape, sodomy, incest, promoting or compelling prostitution: 6 yrs. or if victim was under 18 yrs. old at time of offense, anytime before victim turns 24 yrs. old, whichever occurs first; others: 3 yrs. Sexual misdemeanors: sexual abuse in the 3rd degree or sending, furnishing, exhibiting or displaying obscene materials to minors: 4 yrs. after the offense is reported or if victim is under 18 yrs. old, upon turning 22 yrs. old, whichever occurs first Absent state, hides within state, not resident of state; max. extension 3 yrs.
PENNSYLVANIA Tit. 42 §5551-5554 Murder, manslaughter, voluntary manslaughter, conspiracy to murder, soliciting to commit murder and murder results, felony connected with 1st or 2nd degree murder, vehicular homicide: none; major offenses or conspiracy or solicitation to commit major offense: 5 yrs.; others: 2 yrs.; fraud or breach of fiduciary duty: 3 yrs.; official misconduct: 8 yrs.; sexual offense committed against a minor: period of limitation starts when minor reaches age 18; major sexual offenses: 12 years 2 yrs.; summary offenses: 30 days Absent from state; no ascertainable residence or place of work within state; prosecution pending for same conduct

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
RHODE ISLAND 12-12-17; 12-12-18 Treason against state; homicide, arson, burglary, counterfeiting, forgery, robbery, rape, sexual assault, child molestation, bigamy, manufacturing, selling, distributing or possession of controlled substance, or conspiracy to any of the above: none; larceny, embezzlement, bribery, extortion, racketeering, antitrust violation, or conspiracy to any of the above: 10 yrs.; violations of refuse or hazardous waste disposal or water pollution: 7 yrs.; others: 3 yrs. 3 yrs. Stolen, lost, destroyed information: extends limitation period one year
SOUTH CAROLINA No statute of limitation for any criminal prosecution      
SOUTH DAKOTA 23A-42-1, et seq. Murder, Class A, B, or 1 felony: none; all other public offenses: 7 yrs. 7 yrs. Absent state
TENNESSEE 40-2-101, et seq. Any crime punishable by death or life imprisonment: none; Class A felony: 15 yrs.; Class B felony: 8 yrs.; defrauding state, evading or defeating any tax, fraudulent return: 6 yrs.; Class C or D felony: 4 yrs.; Class E felony: 2 yrs.; others: 3 yrs.; offense committed against a child: 4 yrs. after offense is committed, or when child reaches majority, whichever occurs later; arson: 8 yrs; Gaming: 6 mos.; others: 12 mos. Concealing fact of crime, absent state
TEXAS Crim. Proc. §12.01; 12.02; 12.05 Murder, manslaughter, and certain sexual assaults: none; thefts involving fiduciaries or officials forgery, sexual assault, indecency with a child: 10 yrs.; misapplication of fiduciary property: 7 yrs.; other theft, burglary, robbery, and certain sexual assaults: 5 yrs.; arson: 7 yrs.; others: 3 yrs. 2 yrs. Absent state, pendency of indictment, information complaint

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
UTAH 76-1-301, 304 et seq. Capital felony, murder, manslaughter, none; other felony or negligent homicide: 4 yrs.; fraud or breach of fiduciary obligation, official misconduct: 3 yrs. max.; rape, sodomy, or sexual abuse of a child: within 4 yrs. of reporting offense; child abuse homicide, aggravated kidnapping, child kidnapping: none; violent felony: none if identity of perpetrator unknown but DNA evidence is collected and would identify the person at a later date (does not apply if statute of limitations has run as of May 5, 2003 without changes filed), once identification made, within one year if statute of limitations has run; misuse of public monies, falsification or alteration of public records, bribery: 2 yrs. after facts reported to prosecutor 2 yrs.; infractions: 1 yr. Absent state
VERMONT Tit. 13 §§4501, et seq. Arson causing death, kidnapping, murder, aggravated sexual assault: none; manslaughter: 6 yrs., arson: 11 yrs.; sexual assault, lewd and lascivious conduct, sexual exploitation of children, grand larceny, robbery, burglary, embezzlement, forgery, bribery, false claims, fraud, felony tax offenses: 6 yrs.; sexual assault or lewd and lascivious conduct of child under 16 yrs. old: 6 yrs. or when the victim turns 24 yrs. old, whichever is earlier; others: 3 yrs. 3 yrs. Prosecution commences when arrest is made, citation issued, indictment or information presented
VIRGINIA 19.2-8 Murder: none; cruelty to animals: 5 yrs. (except for agricultural animals: 1 yr.); making false presentation under VA Unemployment Compensation Act to receive benefits, attempt to evade or failure to pay taxes, violation of laws re: discharge, dumping, or emission of toxic substance, violation of rules of VA Real Estate Board, illegal sales of wild birds, animals, or freshwater fish: 3 yrs.; malfeasance in office, Building Code violations: 2 yrs.; violation of Campaign Finance Disclosure Act: within 1 yr. of discovery, max. 3 yrs. after offense Petit larceny: 5 yrs.; attempt to produce abortion: 2 yrs.; others: 1 yr. Fleeing justice or concealing self to avoid arrest

Table 8: Criminal Statutes of Limitation—Continued

State Code Section Felonies Misdemeanors Acts During Which Statute Does Not Run
WASHINGTON 9A.04.080 Murder, arson causing death: none; homicide by abuse, vehicular homicide, vehicular assault causing death, hit-and-run injury/accident causing death: none; public official misconduct, arson: 10 yrs.; rape if reported 1 yr. of commission: 10 yrs., or if victim is under 14 yrs. old, 3 yrs. after victim turns 18, whichever is later; rape if not reported within 1 yr.: 3 yrs. or if victim is under 14 yrs. old, 3 yrs. after victim turns 18 yrs. old, but not more than 7 yrs. after rape; child molestation, indecent liberties, incest: if victim is under 14 yrs. old, 3 yrs. after victim turns 18 yrs. old, but not more than 7 yrs. of offense; leading organized crime or criminal profiteering: 6 yrs.; Class C felony: 5 yrs.; bigamy and all other felonies: 3 yrs. Gross misdemeanors: 2 yrs.; other offenses: 1 yr. Not publicly a resident
WEST VIRGINIA 61-11-9 None Petty larceny or perjury: 3 yrs.; others: 1 yr. Stolen, lost, destroyed indictment
WISCONSIN 939.74 Homicide: none; 1st degree intentional or reckless homicide, murder: none; intentional causing of bodily harm, recklessly causes bodily harm, failing to prevent bodily harm, mental harm, enticement causing bodily or mental harm, or giving or selling a controlled substance to a child: before child turns 26; others: 6 yrs.; sexual assault, physical abuse causing, sexual exploitation, incest, enticement of, or solicitation for prostitution of a child: before victim turns 31 yrs. old; if DNA evidence collected and can identify offender, within 1 year of identification if collected before time limitation expired Misdemeanors or adultery: 3 yrs. Not publicly resident; if victim is unable to seek issuance of a complaint, that time period excluded due to threats, etc.; prosecution pending for same act
WYOMING No statute of limitation for any criminal prosecution      
Deceptive Trade Practices laws - Information on the law about Deceptive Trade Practices [next] [back] Criminal laws - Information on the law about Criminal

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or

Vote down Vote up

about 7 years ago

I need to know the statute of limitations on a misdemeanor possession, pot in Ascension Parish in Louisiana

Vote down Vote up

almost 7 years ago

I was charged with a Felony of pushing a public offical (I an innocent, i wasnt even in the same room as the person) It was to go in front of a Grand Jury in NM in July my attorney brought up the fact that there is a video tape that shows I didnt do it. The DA responded with a cancelation of the GJ hearing until further notice. My attorney told me to check my mail everyday for a notive, that they have up to 5 years, how can I make this go away sooner. I can't stand it being over my head something I didn't do already cost me $12000 and a year of H...???

Vote down Vote up

over 6 years ago

what is the statute of limitations on adult abuse in the state of Missouri?

Vote down Vote up

over 9 years ago

how can someone in WI charged with 961.41(1)(a) Manuf/Deliver Schedule I, II Narcotics be dismissed.

Vote down Vote up

over 7 years ago

I have a criminal felony against me but, the incident happened more than 3 yrs ago in new mexico and now the distric attorney's are trying to charge me for it ,plus the property taken was under $500.00 and i know a criminal felony in new mexico consists of $500.00 and over.So my question is can the D.A'S still open the file after it has already been closed ??

Vote down Vote up

over 6 years ago

In 1996, I moved to Florida with my new born daughters mother. By June of that year, she had started relations with another man. One evening, I was home and later she came home from her place of employment and demanded I go to the store and buy groceries. Knowing my license was suspended from our previous state, and not having a valid one for Florida, we only had her truck for transportation. She would not take me to the store. In hind sight, I believe she set me up. However, I was stopped and arrested for driving while suspended. Spent over 30 days in a jail there and finally released on conditions of providing a valid license. I could not obtain this. We fell apart quickly due to her relations and I returned to my home state where I have resided since. I recently found out I have a warrant for "contempt of court" there and is now 15 years old. Is there a statute of limitations for punishment or limitations as to if this warrant should be dismissed? I would like to clear this matter up and maybe I could clear this from my home state where I reside now.

Vote down Vote up

over 6 years ago

My husband was sentenced to prison on a 20 year old buglary charge in california? Can they do this? Is there no statue of limitations on this type of crime??

Vote down Vote up

about 6 years ago

limitations of law

Vote down Vote up

over 6 years ago

i was charged with petty larceny in the state of ny...what is the statue of limitation for that crime in ny

Vote down Vote up

almost 7 years ago

i need to know the statute of limitations on a felony embezzelment in pa. allegheny co

Vote down Vote up

about 7 years ago

I need to know what the statue of limitation is for" UNAUTHORIZED USE OF A MOTOR VEHICLE" In Bryan County Durant,Oklahoma?PLEASE

Vote down Vote up

about 9 years ago

I was wondering how long the statute was if your ex (whether we were married or not married)split up and when we were split up he married my your best friend - although life must keep going, I have and still go through alot of hurt from the situation(mental stress/harm). He still owes me money from we lived together and nothing can be done about it because nothing was in writing - only agreement through being together...

Vote down Vote up

over 3 years ago

I wast illegally sentenced to five years three years post mandatory supervision on a gun charge which was my first offense.I Put in an appeal when i got sentenced and won the appeal 16 months in to my sentence. I was released in 2006 what is the statue of limitations for me to take legal actions against my illegal sentencing?

Vote down Vote up

about 7 years ago

In pa statute of limitation for fraud is 3years. Is that 3 years from when it occurred or 3 years from the victim became aware?

Vote down Vote up

about 9 years ago

Are these dates current for the statute of limitations exclusively misdemeanors?

Vote down Vote up

over 9 years ago

i would like to know how i should proceed with a person committing fraud in the state of Texas. i am btw not an American.

Vote down Vote up

about 1 month ago

What exactly is absent residence in the state? I live in Louisiana.

Vote down Vote up

over 2 years ago

http://www.situsterpercaya.com/rajapoker88-com-agen-texas-poker-dan-domino-online-indonesia-terpercaya

Vote down Vote up

about 6 years ago

If I was charged with OWI 4th offense in wisconsin but nothing was done with court until 2 years later from the court canceling and the last hearing was rescheduled will the statue of limitations apply? Its now been 3 years and 3 months and no conviction all they have for evidence is a man saying i moved car in the yard when he did it. please email me back asap thanks